A Thousand Shards Of Glass

A Thousand Shards Of Glass


Once upon a time, Michael Katakis lived in a place of big dreams, bright colours and sleight of hand. That place was America.

One night, travelling where those who live within illusions should never go, he stared into the darkness and glimpsed a faded flag where shadows gathered, revealing another America. It was a broken place, bred from fear and distrust - a thousand shards of glass - filled with a people who long ago had given away all that was precious; a people who had been sold, for so long, a foreign betrayal that finally came from within, and for nothing more than a handful of silver.

These essays, letters and journal entries were written as a farewell to the country Michael loves still, and to the wife he knew as his 'True North'. A powerful and personal polemic, A Thousand Shards of Glassis Michael's appeal to his fellow citizens to change their course; a cautionary tale to those around the world who idealise an America that never was; and, crucially, a glimpse beyond the myth, to a country whose best days could still lie ahead.

Quién oyó esto, también escuchó:


  • AThousandShardsOfGlass 01 Open
    Duración: 13s
  • AThousandShardsOfGlass 02 Dedication
    Duración: 01min
  • AThousandShardsOfGlass 03 Introduction
    Duración: 11min
  • AThousandShardsOfGlass 04 1 Dying the American Way
    Duración: 24min
  • AThousandShardsOfGlass 05 2 Thanks for the Dance, Mr. Vidal
    Duración: 24min
  • AThousandShardsOfGlass 06 3 The Believers
    Duración: 12min
  • AThousandShardsOfGlass 07 4 Dear Lord Clint, Who Art in Carmel
    Duración: 08min
  • AThousandShardsOfGlass 08 5 Remaining Seated, The Smithsonian Letter
    Duración: 07min
  • AThousandShardsOfGlass 09 Other Voices
    Duración: 04min
  • AThousandShardsOfGlass 10 6 Bringing Back the Draft, A Moral Imperative
    Duración: 21min
  • AThousandShardsOfGlass 11 7 Christopher Hitchens and the Heroes that Never Were
    Duración: 06min
  • AThousandShardsOfGlass 12 8 The Ghost of T.E. Lawrence
    Duración: 03min
  • AThousandShardsOfGlass 13 9 Dear President Bush, Say it Ain't So
    Duración: 12min
  • AThousandShardsOfGlass 14 Other Voices
    Duración: 02min
  • AThousandShardsOfGlass 15 10 Just Another Dark American Day
    Duración: 18min
  • AThousandShardsOfGlass 16 11 An Absence of Poetry
    Duración: 10min
  • AThousandShardsOfGlass 17 12 The Last Night Train, What is a Country For
    Duración: 05min
  • AThousandShardsOfGlass 18 13 My Final Opening Farewell
    Duración: 16min
  • AThousandShardsOfGlass 19 The Dark Fountain of Wishes' Ends
    Duración: 01min
  • AThousandShardsOfGlass 20 Acknowledgments
    Duración: 07min
  • AThousandShardsOfGlass 21 (One Last Time) My True North
    Duración: 02min
  • AThousandShardsOfGlass 22 Close
    Duración: 49s